Know Your Own Happiness

IMG_2833Happy Thursday everyone! It’s finals week here at Texas State, and lemme tell ya, I’m stressed. Stressful weeks like this can really put a damper on a positive attitude, so I have been doing things to calm me down, cheer me up, and make me happier. There are so many tools and tips to use to destress nowadays, and it is in your best interest to use them. First, you have to find things that personally work for you. Today I’ll be sharing with you a few tools that have helped me survive these past few weeks.


Things that I’ve been loving:

  1. Journaling has been extremely helpful in sorting my thoughts and getting all of them out of my head and onto a piece of paper. I have been listening to a podcast recently called Wellness Wonderland, and the episode I listened to yesterday was about the importance of journaling.  The host, Katie Dalebout, and her guest, Jenn Hand, were talking about how journaling can help you get to know yourself, which is something that I have been struggling with lately. Journaling has really allowed me to analyze why I’m feeling the way that I am. I now know more about how to fix or change those feelings if need be. I would definitely recommend trying journaling out for yourself (also, check out the Wellness Wonderland podcast!).
  2. IMG_2838I recently purchased an adult coloring book. A coloring book? For adults? It sounded silly to me at first too, but it has proven to be quite therapeutic. Especially for someone like me, whose mind runs at one hundred miles a minute, it’s nice to be able to zone out for a while and concentrate on one thing.
  3. Reading is a great way to get out of your head and escape from your reality for a while. Now, I’m not saying that you should run away from your problems, but I am saying that reading can give you a little bit of a break from time to time. The book I have been reading is called ‘You are a Badass’ by Jen Sincero. It’s a great book that helps you to realize your full potential and act on it. I was an avid reader when I was younger, but as I have grown older, reading isn’t at the top of my priority list. I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things and read a little more.

I challenge you to either try these tips to relax a little, or find your own!

What helps you destress?

Until next time,

Chelsea

One thought on “Know Your Own Happiness

  1. Pingback: A few of my Favorite Things | coffeewithchelsea

Leave a Reply

